Hours and operations of locations listed may be impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic. Call ahead before visiting.

See the Groceries tab for resources on grocery shopping safely.

Special Diets

Dining hall

There are a variety of reasons that people follow special diets such as gluten free, allergen free, vegetarian, or vegan diets. Checkout the tabs below for more information about each of these diets and what places on campus have options for you.

If you have dietary needs not encompassed by the diets listed above please contact the U of M's registered dietitian. For Kosher and Halal see the M Dining special diets page.


Gluten Free

Gluten free diets are becoming much more popular, however individuals diagnosed with celiac disease require a gluten free diet. Common foods that naturally contain gluten are wheat, wheat derived products, and rye. However just because a product does not explicitly contain these products it does not mean that it is gluten free. Many products such as soups and sauces may be contaminated with gluten, thus certified gluten free products are the safest options for individuals with celiac. 

See this link for celiac-friendly gluten free foods.

See the U of M's special diets page for eating gluten free on campus. (Note: M dining must use the "made without gluten" statement as they do not operate any gluten free facilities. Individuals with celiac disease should contact the M Dining registered dietitian).

Check out our google map for celiac-friendly restaurants near campus.

Allergen Free

An allergen free diet is a diet that excludes common allergens. At the U of M the true balance stations provide food free of seven common allergens including peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, soy, wheat, and shellfish. See our google map for the true balance stations on campus.

Other Allergen Free Diet Resources:

Allergic Living

Allergy Associates of La Crosse

Vegetarian and Vegan

The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics states that "appropriately planned vegetarian, including vegan, diets are healthful, nutritionally adequate, and may provide health benefits for the prevention and treatment of certain diseases. These diets are appropriate for all stages of the life cycle..." There are a variety of vegetarian diets but all of them exclude animal flesh. Vegetarian diets may include or exclude eggs and dairy products. Vegan diets avoid all animal products including dairy and eggs. Check out our google map for vegetarian/vegan friendly places to eat on campus. Most dining halls offer vegetarian and vegan options but check their online daily menu to be sure.

Use Happy Cow to find vegetarian/vegan restaurants and businesses near you.

Use UMN's Compassionate Action for Animals' guides:

Eating vegan on campus with a meal plan, Vegan guide to Dinkytown Target, Dinkytown & Stadium Village restaurants

Use Twin Cities Compassionate Action for Animals' guide for eating near campus (Note: some restaurants on this list have permanently closed, check before visiting). 

For more reliable nutrition information visit the Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine, NutritionFacts.org, MyPlate and the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics webpages.